G’morning Earthlings;
How are you doing today? I hope your thumbs are sore from all the gamin’ you’re getting! 😀

Anyway, I do love “Indie Games“. And as you may noticed, I do love series aswell. This series will cover those Independent video game development which basically is the process of creating video games without the financial support of a video game publisher. For you who don’t know much of that, Minecraft is an Indie-Game. It’s actually the most successful Indie-Game in the existence, and has sold over 1 million copies. Amazing, huh? Oh, you don’t know what-the-heck Minecraft is? Oh, you’re living under a rock then, buddy. A rock not worth livin’ under.
Well, another example of a famous Indie-Game is the “The Humble Indie Bundle“. This one has an interesting feature, being “Pay what you want” for the Bundle. Even though I, you, we could get those games for free on some Torrent website, it’s great to be able to support’em. They work hard on their stuff and deserve recognition, for sure. You’ll see how few bucks can give you almost endless fun. You can get more into that here and sure, Google is your friend if you wanna really go deep into the subject. I totally recommend you doin’ so.

But well, I am not here to talk’bout Minecraft nor Indie-Games as a whole. I briefly explain the reasons for me to like’em, gave you some examples and all, but the best comes for last.

I wanna recommend to you guys a game I stumbled across last week and I find it addicting and awesome. It has a delicious retro-feel’n look to it aswell as a recognizable graphics-style, right from the ZX-Spectrum, MSX and all those type of computers, which were the precursors of Isometric-adventure-games, btw.

The plot is consistent and grabs you almost instantly. The game is inventive, and really rewards you for exploring. As the developer briefly explains;

In the 13th century, the Cathars, who preach about good Christian beliefs, were being expelled by the Catholic Church out of the Languedoc region in France.
One of them, called Jean Raymond, found an old church in which to hide, not knowing that beneath its ruins lay buried an ancient evil.

Oh, believe me, this simple plot grabs you and don’t let go.

Anyhow, I’d love to give you more details of the game, but I gave it away too much already. I don’t want to ruin your gaming-experience, I want it to be as spoiler-free as possible. If you are interested in playing the game, and I don’t know why you shouldn’t, download it and know more about the developers and all that good stuff here. He also made another games, this time a spaceship-shooter called “Hydorah”, which is equally awesome. If you like good retro-style-games, wait no further. Play’em, you won’t regret it.

Cheers and good gaming!

 

 

